Married at First Swipe by Claire Frost

Today I’m sharing my thoughts about this gorgeous book being published today in the UK. Thanks to Books and the City / Simon and Schuster UK for a digital proof copy via NetGalley to read and review. My thoughts are my own and not influenced by the free gift.

Synopsis:

The brand new novel from the author of acclaimed debut LIVING MY BEST LIFE. Perfect for fans of Helly Acton, Mhairi McFarlane and Laura Jane Williams.
 
Hannah lives life on the edge. Never one to pass up on a new adventure, she has truly been living her best life. But once the adrenaline wears off, she wishes she had someone to spend the quieter moments with too. Learning that her best friend’s online dating business has taken a hit, she comes up with an idea that just might solve both of their problems…
 
Jess has been with her husband for twenty years. They have a stable marriage, great kids and run their own businesses. But what looks like a perfect life from the outside has its own problems within, and with her business on the brink Jess can’t help but wonder where the spark has gone in her life, and whether settling down is all it’s cracked up to be.
 
When Hannah embarks upon her latest scheme: finding a man using Jess’s dating app and meeting him for the first time at the altar, both women start to realise the grass isn’t always greener. Can Hannah help her friend save her failing business or will Jess stop her from making what could be the biggest mistake of her life?
 
In the modern tech-fuelled world of dating, is it possible to find true love? 

My thoughts:

This is the first book I’ve read by Claire Frost, and I will now be looking to read her debut novel, Living My Best Life, too. I will make a disclaimer here – I have never watched Married at First Sight so I cannot comment on how that would be similar or dissimilar to the story.

I initially expected the book to be mainly about Hannah, the bride to be who has agreed to let her best friend Jess find the perfect match for her, to hopefully find the love her grandparents enjoyed. However, I found that Jess was actually the main character for me, she wanted to look after her best friend Hannah, be a perfect mum, provide financial security to her family but was in danger of losing sight of how important her own marriage was. As someone who has been married for 20+ years, it can be easy to lose sight of what you already have.

A modern relationships story, full of great characters, humour, soul searching and dating apps. I enjoyed my escape from lockdown to spend time with Hannah and Jess, and happily recommend this book to readers.

Future reviews:

Books and the City are publishing more fabulous books this year, watch out for reviews of these books on my blog over the next few weeks and months:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s