This Nowhere Place by Natasha Bell

Thanks to Jennifer Breslin of Penguin Michael Joseph for a proof copy of This Nowhere Place by Natasha Bell to read and review. I’m sharing my non spoiler mini review on this week of publication.

Synopsis:

Ten years ago, Mo arrived at the white cliffs of Dover, befriended by teenagers Cali and Jude.

They thought they’d save each other, yet within months their friendship would see two of them dead and the third scarred for life.

Now documentary maker Tarek and his film crew are in town, asking difficult questions about what happened that summer.

Because in the shadow of the white cliffs it’s easy for people and their stories to get lost . . .

And as Tarek will discover, the truth is something that must be unburied carefully.

Or it might just it bury you . . .

This Nowhere Place is a tense and atmospheric mystery about the aftermath of a fateful and fatal friendship, perfect for fans of Emma Cline and Jane Harper.

My thoughts:

This is a book that left me feeling sad about how jealousy, prejudice and poverty can damage lives. The story takes us to Dover in 2016 and in 2026, to meet a group of young women and a man looking to discover the truth.

Cali and Jude are best friends. Cali has had a troubled life, a mother with problems and a half sister who has escaped Dover to head to London. She tries to help Mo who is a refugee who has no friends or family. But can Jude cope with sharing her friend? Why is Cali struggling without help from her sister.

We have a series of flashbacks from some of the characters in 2026, to discover how two of the girls ended up dead and one scarred for life, as Tarek interviews Jude and Cali’s sister. But why is he so interested in Mo?

This was a gripping read featuring jealousy, poverty, mental health issues and immigration but a bleak depiction of modern Britain.

Author Bio:

Natasha Bell grew up in Somerset and has lived in York, Massachusetts and Chicago. She moved to London in 2015 to take an MA in Creative and Life Writing at Goldsmiths, where she is now pursuing a PhD. She writes from her home in south-east London and teaches Creative Writing at City Lit. Natasha’s debut His Perfect Wife was published by Michael Joseph in 2018.

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum of teenagers. Adopter of dogs.

1 comment

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s