The Summer Job by Lizzy Dent

Today I’m pleased to be sharing my review on here and on my first Bookstagram Tour, for this gorgeous book. Thank you to Ellie Hudson at Viking Books for the invitation and a fabulous finished copy of the book. The end papers are stunning and my teenage daughter crocheted the lobster to match the book during her school holiday.

Synopsis:

Have you ever imagined running away from your life?

Well Birdy Finch didn’t just imagine it. She did it. Which might’ve been an error. And the life she’s run into? Her best friend, Heather’s.

The only problem is, she hasn’t told Heather. Actually there are a few other problems…

Can Birdy carry off a summer at a luxury Scottish hotel pretending to be her best friend (who incidentally is a world-class wine expert)?

And can she stop herself from falling for the first man she’s ever actually liked (but who thinks she’s someone else)

The Summer Job is a fresh, fun, feel-good romcom for fans of The Flatshare, Bridget Jones and Bridesmaids.

My thoughts:

This was the book I started my Easter holiday readathon with. After reading some ‘gruesome’ historical fiction, I needed something to read to make me smile. I’m happy to say that reading about Birdy made me smile, laugh and occasionally groan, as her summer job changed her life.

As I read the book, I found myself hoping that Birdy would make a success of her summer job, despite pretending to be her best friend. As we got to know Birdy, we discovered a deeper character than we may have initially imagined when she was getting drunk on free wine in London with her friend Tim.

I loved my virtual visit to Scotland with Birdy. Lizzy Dent has created a character with flaws but with a big heart. There are many comic moments for Birdy, involving clothes, food, customers, corks to name but a few. My family had to put up with me giggling along to this story. However we also find out more about her childhood and begin to understand why she hasn’t yet found the life she deserves.

In addition to Birdy, Lizzy Dent has created a wonderful set of characters, some with secret ambitions or ‘skeletons in their cupboards’. I’m not a regular wine drinker (the bottles in the photos were gifts to my husband), but I enjoyed learning about wine alongside Birdy. This is also a book for people who love food, with wonderful sounding menus.

The past 13 months in the UK have been strange with repeated lockdowns due to the global pandemic. As many of us will be staying in the UK again for our summer holidays, this book will be at the top of my list of books to enjoy during your holiday – no weight allowances for suitcases this year. I’ve seen lots of love for the book from other reviewers and I’m happy to confirm that this is one of my favourite books of 2021.

Extract:

To enjoy an extract for the book, visit https://www.penguin.co.uk/articles/2021/january/summer-job-lizzy-dent.html

Author Bio:

Lizzy Dent (mis)spent her early twenties working in Scotland in hospitality, in a hotel not unlike the one in this novel. She somehow ended up in a glamorous job travelling the world creating content for various TV companies, including MTV, Channel 4, Cartoon Network, the BBC and ITV. But she always knew that writing was the thing she wanted to do, if only she could find the confidence. After publishing three young adult novels, she decided to write a novel that reflected the real women she knew, who don’t always know where they’re going in life, but who always have fun doing it. The Summer Job is that novel.

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum of teenagers. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: