The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

Thank you to Sian Baldwin at HQ Stories for the invitation to read and review the latest book by Nicola Cornick. I discovered Nicola’s books last year when I reviewed The Forgotten Sister (see my review at https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2020/04/30/bookreview-the-forgotten-sister-by-nicola-cornick/). Thank you to HQ Stories for the gorgeous review copy. The book was published yesterday in the UK.

Synopsis:

Ever since her sister disappeared eleven years ago, Serena Warren has been running from a ghost, haunted by what she can’t remember about that night.

When Caitlin’s body is discovered, Serena returns to her grandfather’s house, nestled beside the ruins of Minster Lovell Hall in Oxfordshire, determined to uncover the truth. But in returning to the place of her childhood summers, Serena stands poised at the brink of a startling discovery – one that will tie her family to a centuries-old secret…

Taking readers from the present day to the Wars of the Roses in the 1400s, and with an enthralling mystery at its heart, The Last Daughter is a spellbinding novel about family secrets, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

My thoughts:

I enjoyed travelling back in time to 1465 to meet Anne in Yorkshire, a feisty five year old who is part of the Neville family. At this tender age, her uncle arranges for her to be married to his ward, Francis Lovell, aged eight or nine – when “marriage was an alliance of wealth and power”.

Nicola Cornick brings to life the world of Anne, who grows up as her uncle, the Earl of Warwick plays a dangerous game of supporting different royals at different times. Anne is a wonderful character, who has a kind heart and longs to join her husband at Minster Lovell Hall.

The chapters about Anne and her family are interspersed with chapters about Serena, who is haunted by the sudden disappearance of her twin sister Caitlin 11 years ago near the ruins of the above mentioned Minster Lovell Hall.

Serena is unable to remember the events of the evening Caitlin disappeared and is shocked by the forensic information from the police when Caitlin’s body is discovered. How could this be true?

There is a hint of magic / Doctor Who to this story in addition to the history and heartbreak. Can Serena work out what happened to her sister and how this links to famous events in history? As this is a non spoiler review I’m not sharing any more details but I’m recommending that you read a copy to find out more.

Author Bio:

Nicola Cornick is a historian and author who works as a volunteer researcher and guide for the National Trust in one of the most beautiful 17th century houses in England. She writes dual time novels that illustrate her love of history, mystery and the supernatural. Her books have appeared in over twenty five languages, sold over half a million copies worldwide and been described as “perfect for Outlander fans.” Nicola also works as a consultant for TV and radio.

Nicola loves to chat to readers about history, reading and writing. 
Join the conversation on Twitter @NicolaCornick, 
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nicola.cornick/ 
and Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nicolacornick/
You can find Nicola’s website at http://www.nicolacornick.com where you can sign up for her newsletter to be first in line for events, news and exclusive chapters.

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum of teenagers. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s