Christmas at Fox Farm by Helen Pollard

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to join the blog tour, and to read and review a digital proof copy.

Synopsis:

Living at Fox Farm, with its cosy café, beautiful pottery studio and charming gift shop, is a dream come true for thirty-one-year-old Daisy. The kindly owner, Jean, and the close-knit village feel like the home and family Daisy has never had. She’s been looking forward to her first magical Christmas in the countryside.

When Jean suddenly falls ill, Daisy is the first to lend a hand. She ropes in Alex – Jean’s handsome but stubborn nephew – to help her. When the pair discover the farm is almost bankrupt, it seems like the annual Christmas celebrations will be cancelled. Alex and Daisy need a plan, and quickly, if they are to pull off Christmas against the odds and save Fox Farm.

From the get-go Daisy and Alex cannot agree on anything, from the mince pie recipe to the colour scheme for the tree. Soon, however, in true Christmas spirit, they find themselves coming together in the face of decorating disasters, tripping over each other at the holiday barn dance and tracking down a missing Santa Claus.

But when Daisy discovers the secret Alex is keeping about the future of Jean’s farm, will she run from the only place that has ever felt like home? Or will she find a way to save Christmas and the farm, and open her heart to a new beginning for her and Alex?

Grab a mug of hot chocolate and a mince pie (or two!) and lose yourself in this utterly charming and romantic holiday tale that proves home is where the heart is. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin, this is the book that will make your Christmas! 

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/39oIlMM

Apple: https://apple.co/37O2ESG

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2W3bDwH

Google: https://bit.ly/3mc6Xj7

Please check out the other reviews on the blog tour

My thoughts:

As a Yorkshire lass living down in the South West of the UK, I’m pleased to say that I loved my virtual visit to the Yorkshire Dales thanks to Helen Pollard.

Although the title of the book mentions Christmas, this story starts in October as the usual life at Fox Farm takes an unexpected turn when Jean becomes ill.

Alex, her nephew and Daisy, the resident artist need to learn to work together to make Fox Farm viable for the future. There is a roller coaster ride of emotions for Alex and Daisy as some members of the workforce and family try to stop changes being made, whilst others are eager to help.

This was a lovely uplifting read, full of characters you quickly care about, community spirit, friendship, festive cheer and learning to trust your own judgment. There are funny moments too, including the resident murder mystery author on a foggy night and with Daisy’s friend on a video call.

Happy to recommend this festive book and I look forward to reading more by Helen Pollard in the future.

Author Bio:

As a child, Helen had a vivid imagination fuelled by her love of reading (long past her bedtime!) so she started to create her own stories in a notebook.

Now a bestselling author of contemporary romance, she believes that good characterisation is the key to a successful book and loves infusing her writing with humour and heart.

Helen lives in Yorkshire with her husband, two grown-up (in theory) kids and a Jekyll and Hyde cat.

https://www.facebook.com/HelenPollardWrites/

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum of teenagers. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: