Underneath the Christmas Tree by Heidi Swain

Thank you to Harriett Collins and Sara-Jade Virtue of Books and The City at Simon and Schuster UK for the invitation to join the blog tour for this latest book by Heidi Swain.

Synopsis:

Wynter’s Trees is the home of Christmas. For the people of Wynmouth it’s where they get their family Christmas tree, and where Christmas truly comes to life.

But for Liza Wynter, it’s a millstone around her neck. It was her father’s pride and joy but now he’s gone, she can’t have anything to do with it. Until her father’s business partner decides to retire and she must go back to handle the transition to his son Ned.

When Liza arrives, she discovers a much-loved business that’s flourishing under Ned’s stewardship. And she’s happy to stay and help for the Christmas season, but then she has other plans. But will the place where she grew up make her change her mind? And can it weave its Christmas cheer around her heart…?

Underneath the Christmas Tree is the perfect festive read, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Carole Matthews and Cathy Bramley.

My thoughts:

Regular readers of my blog will have seen a few reviews for Heidi’s books during the past 16 months, as I caught up on her past books during our repeated lockdowns.

Today I’m thrilled to be sharing my thoughts about the brand new book, which will be published tomorrow (28th October). The cover design is gorgeous and festive, and fits the story perfectly.

Liza has had two major tragic events in her life, and has avoided spending time at Wynter’s Trees in recent years. However a number of events conspire to send her back, and she needs to face up to her past and make plans for her future.

I loved how the relationship develops between Liza and Ned, as he tries to encourage her to see how the business has evolved over time and to get involved. I also enjoyed how Heidi allowed Liza to deal with her old school bully, something probably many of us wish we could do.

I’m pleased to say that this is another fabulous festive book from Heidi, full of soul searching, new friendships, hot chocolates, community spirit and Christmas trees. An uplifting read that I’m happy to recommend.

Author Bio:

Heidi lives in beautiful south Norfolk with her family and a mischievous cat called Storm. She is passionate about gardening, the countryside, collecting vintage paraphernalia and reading. Her TBR pile is always out of control!

To find out more, follow Heidi on twitter @Heidi_Swain or visit her website: heidiswain.co.uk.

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

2 comments

  1. Lovely review Karen, like yourself I’m catching up on Heidi’s wonderful books.

    Looking forward to adding this festive treat to my TBR.

    Like

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: