The Post Box at the North Pole by Jaimie Admans

Thank you to Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources and Boldwood Books for the opportunity to read and review the latest festive book by Jaimie Admans. My previous reviews for Jaimie’s books include https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2020/10/14/the-little-christmas-shop-on-nutcracker-lane-by-jaimie-admans/ and https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2020/07/11/the-little-bookshop-of-love-stories-by-jaimie-admans/

Synopsis:

Dear Santa,

I wish I could believe in magic again.

From Sasha.

Sasha Hansley hates Christmas. As a child, it was her favourite time of year, but ever since the tragic death of her mother, it has completely lost its magic.

But when she gets an unexpected phone call from her eccentric estranged father, she’s forced to dust off her snow boots.

He has been running a Lapland-style Christmas village in Norway and after suffering a heart attack, he is on strict doctor’s orders to slow down. Eager to reconnect with her dad, Sasha books the next flight out there. Only she has never actually been on a plane before, let alone to the Arctic Circle.

 Met at the runway by drop-dead-gorgeous Taavi Salvesen, they sleigh ride through the snow with the Northern Lights guiding their way.

 When Sasha uncovers sacks of unopened Santa mail – letters that children and adults from all over the world write to Santa every year – she realises that she can send a little bit of magic out into the world by replying to some of them.

 With Taavi on hand to help, will Sasha rediscover her own excitement for Christmas and find love among the letters?

The Post Box at the North Pole is like one big romantic mug of hot chocolate with extra whipped cream and a splash of Christmas magic! Fans of Holly Martin, Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain will love this novel!

Purchase Links

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B09DFHFNW3

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B09DFHFNW3

My thoughts:

Sasha has lost sight of how magical Christmas can be, after the death of her mum and the repeated failures of her dad to return to spend Christmas with her. I found myself feeling very sorry for Sasha at the start of the story.

Sasha needed to find courage to get on a plane for the first time, all on her own. Suddenly she was leaving behind her home to dash to the aid of the dad she hadn’t seen for years. I loved the initial meeting with Taavi, and her unexpected mode of transport from the airport.

Sasha discovers that the Lapland Style village where her dad is ‘helping’ Santa, needs some extra TLC and visitors. Sasha starts to explore, to ask questions and to answer some of the letters received from young writers looking for help at Christmas. Can helping others enable Sasha to find the magic of Christmas again?

Sasha, her dad and Taavi all need to take time to build or rebuild their relationships, as they work towards helping others enjoy the magic of Christmas. A number of secrets and/or misunderstandings ensure that this isn’t an easy task.

I’m pleased to say that this is another lovely festive story by Jaimie Admans, reminding us that Christmas is about family, friends and kindness rather than material possessions and over consumption. Happy to recommend to readers of my book review blog. Please let me know if you read it too.

Author Bio:

Jaimie is a 36-year-old English-sounding Welsh girl with an awkward-to-spell name. She lives in South Wales and enjoys writing, gardening, watching horror movies, and drinking tea, although she’s seriously considering marrying her coffee machine. She loves autumn and winter, and singing songs from musicals despite the fact she’s got the voice of a dying hyena. She hates spiders, hot weather, and cheese & onion crisps. She spends far too much time on Twitter and owns too many pairs of boots.
She will never have time to read all the books she wants to read.

She is the author of several romantic comedies for HarperCollins – The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters, The Little Wedding Island, It’s a Wonderful Night, The Little Vintage Carousel by the Sea, Snowflakes at the Little Christmas Tree Farm, The Little Bookshop of Love Stories, The Wishing Tree Beside the Shore, The Little Christmas Shop on Nutcracker Lane, and The Post Box at the North Pole.

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum of teenagers. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: