The Girl from Paris by Ella Carey

Today I’m sharing my first review in 2022 for a book I enjoyed reading last month. Thank you to Sarah Hardy for the invitation to join the Bookouture blog tour for this new book by Ella Carey. I read and reviewed The Lost Girl of Berlin (Book 2 in this series) last year, my review can be found at https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2021/07/12/lost-girl-of-berlin-by-ella-carey/

Synopsis:

Vianne rushes through the crowded streets of Paris as the German bombs begin to fall. As she rounds the corner she sees the familiar spires of the old church burst into flames. Too late, she realizes that her mother and sister are trapped inside…

Paris, 1918. The end of war is in sight, and young seamstress Vianne Mercier is longing for the day when she can stop sewing military uniforms and start creating the beautiful dresses that she has been dreaming up in her head.

But just when it seems like peace is within reach, Vianne’s mother and sister are killed in a terrible air raid. To make matters worse, Vianne’s brother has returned home a changed man. Controlling and cruel, he presents Vianne with an ultimatum; give up her dreams of becoming a designer, or be forced onto the streets, penniless and alone.

With nothing left for her in Paris but sad memories, she decides to sail for New York. Determined not to look back, she throws herself into her new life—spending her days sewing dresses for wealthy Upper East Side women, and her evenings dancing the Charleston to Duke Ellington in the new downtown clubs. When Vianne meets handsome Italian Giorgio Conti, he encourages her career, and she feels safe for the first time since she lost her family.

Then news of a terrible accident compels Vianne to suddenly return to France, where she discovers proof of a wartime secret that changes everything she thought she knew about her family. Facing the threat of sickness and ruin, the people who forced Vianne out of her home now suddenly need her help.

Will Vianne find the courage to follow her heart, return to New York and her life with Giorgio? Or will duty bind her to the family she had left behind and force her to remain in France?

From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly gripping and emotional historical wartime novel about the terrible choices people made during humanity’s darkest days. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will adore this novel.

My thoughts:

The start of the book is heartbreaking, as Vianne’s life changes dramatically towards the end of the First World War when the battle to win the war arrives in Paris and takes loved ones away from her.

Vianne decides to take her creative skills to New York, to make a fresh start in a brave new world. I loved this part of the story, full of historical details, dreams, ambition and adventure. Ella Carey brings 1920’s New York to life and I would love to see this book turned into a film or TV series.

Vianne’s return to Paris is full of surprises, as she tries to help what is left of her family, despite their previous lack of interest in her. Should she forget her hopes, dreams and possible romance in New York? I recommend curling up with the book and enjoying the storytelling just as I did. The book was published in the UK on Tuesday and I’ve shared the publisher purchase links below.

Author Bio:

Ella Carey is the USA Today and Amazon charts bestselling author of eight novels of historical fiction, including the Secrets of Paris Series, published with Hachette imprint, Bookouture. Ella’s novels have reached over one million readers and have been translated into fourteen languages. Ella has recently signed a six book deal in Germany and a nine book deal in Denmark. Ella’s latest novels are A New York Secret, and The Lost Girl of Berlin, both published with Bookouture in 2021. The Girl from Paris is the third novel in this new series, and will publish in January, 2022. Ella has a music degree in classical piano, and an arts degree majoring in English and history. Her novels have been shortlisted for ARRA awards. For further information:

Buy Link:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3el9K4o
Audio Links:UK: zpr.io/xx93EppYYZm2
US: zpr.io/czed4tyX3wJY
https://soundcloud.com/bookouture/the-girl-from-paris-by-ella-carey-narrated-by-laurence-bouvard

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: