Hotel Portofino by J.P. O’Connell

Today I’m joining the blog tour for Hotel Portofino by J.P O’Connell organised by Anne Cater’s Random Things Tours for Simon and Schuster UK.

Synopsis:

Check in to a world of glamour, elegance and intrigue…

A heady historical drama about a British family who open an upper-class hotel on the magical Italian Riviera during the ‘Roaring 20s’.

Hotel Portofino has been open for only a few weeks, but already the problems are mounting for its owner Bella Ainsworth. Her high-class guests are demanding and hard to please. And she’s being targeted by a scheming and corrupt local politician, who threatens to drag her into the red-hot cauldron of Mussolini’s Italy.

To make matters worse, her marriage is in trouble, and her children are still struggling to recover from the repercussions of the Great War. All eyes are on the arrival of a potential love match for her son Lucian, but events don’t go to plan, which will have far reaching consequences for the whole family.

Set in the breathtakingly beautiful Italian Riviera, Hotel Portofino is a story of personal awakening at a time of global upheaval and of the liberating influence of Italy’s enchanting culture, climate and cuisine on British ‘innocents abroad’, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.

Please check out the other reviews

My thoughts:

Before opening the book, take a few moments to enjoy the book cover. Then you will be ready to head back in time to the Italian Riveria in 1926, eight years after the end of The Great War.

This book was a delight to curl up with on a cold winter night. The newly opened Hotel Portofino is receiving wealthy English and Italian customers at the same time as Bella is being blackmailed by a local politician. Bella’s family have a number of secrets as do many of the customers and staff at the Hotel Portofino.

As the sun shines over the Italian Riveria, we meet the family, the staff and the rich customers. Once the gentle introductions are over, the pace of the story speeds up and we have a mix of unrequited love, money worries, class divides, a mysteriously disappearing antique and racism.

Many of the characters have serious flaws, some are downright unpleasant whilst others will make you feel sorry for them as they find themselves in difficult situations.

I loved how many different personal stories were weaved into just one novel, all happening in a short period of time (although there are some flashbacks to the past for a number of characters).

I’m thrilled to see that this is already being adapted for TV and will be available on ITV this summer. Happy to recommend the book – perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Agatha Christie novels.

Author Bio:

J.P. O’Connell is a writer and editor who lives in South London. He was previously Books Editor for Time Out magazine, and has written for a variety of newspapers including The Guardian, The Times and the Daily Telegraph.
Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: