The Cornish Hideaway by Jennifer Bibby

Thanks to the lovely Books and the City team at Simon and Schuster for the opportunity to read and review this debut novel, published last month. I’m sharing a mini review today.

Synopsis:

All Freya has ever wanted to do is paint. So when she fails her Master’s Degree in Art, on the same day that her boyfriend decides he needs a ‘more serious’ partner, to Freya it feels like the end of the world.

Luckily, she has a saviour in the shape of best friend Lola, who invites her to the sleepy Cornish village of Polcarrow, to work in her café. With nothing keeping her in London, Freya jumps at the chance of a summer by the sea.

Freya needs time to focus on herself. But then dark and mysterious biker Angelo blows into town on a stormy afternoon, with his own artistic dreams and a secretive past, and Freya’s plans of a romance-free summer fly straight out of the window…

Heart-warming, heartfelt and romantic, The Cornish Hideaway is a novel of community, friendship and learning to love again, for fans of Jenny Colgan, Cathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.

My thoughts:

I enjoyed this debut novel, available now in ebook format. Freya has always enjoyed art, until she took a postgraduate course. After a crushing results day and a relationship collapse, Freya finds herself leaving London to head to Cornwall.

I wanted to join Freya in Cornwall, to eat cake at Lola’s cafe, to meet Alf and his dog, and to watch Freya find her love of art again. This is an uplifting read about new beginnings, friendship, romance and cake.

A lovely debut novel and I look forward to reading more from Jennifer Bibby in the future.

Author Bio:

As a lifelong lover of stories, I spent my teenage years wowing various teachers with historical epics before finding my feet writing modern love stories. I enjoy exploring the lives of women as they set out on life changing adventures, which usually lead them somewhere picturesque and full of new friendships and of course, the promise of romance. I adore a romantic hero with a dark backstory, the typical bad boy turned good.

In addition to being a bibliophile (my to be read pile is embarrassing stacked all around my house) I love classy cocktails, cake and dressing in the vintage style – never leaving the house without my signature red lipstick. I’m happiest by the sea, or stomping around a muddy field and I love to travel (Venice is my absolute favourite place, it’s so enchanting and calls to the artist in me.) I love medieval history, steam trains and firmly believe dinosaurs improve everything.

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: