The Only Exception by Claire Huston

I’m pleased to be joining the blog tour with Rachel’s Random Resources today. I enjoyed reading Claire’s previous books and my reviews can be found at https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2020/09/17/art-and-soul-by-claire-huston/ and https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2021/07/07/elles-a-to-z-of-love-by-claire-huston/

Synopsis:

Lucinda Green knows something is missing from her life. But what? Her catering business is enjoying modest success and she loves her cosy house, even if she does have to share it with her irritating ex-fiancé. 

Whatever’s making her unsettled and edgy, Lucinda’s certain that a lack of romance isn’t the problem. How could it be when she doesn’t believe in true love?

But Lucinda’s beliefs are shaken by a series of electric encounters with Alex Fraser, a newly-notorious actor who gradually proves himself to be infuriatingly funny and smart, as well as handsome. 

Not that any of that matters. Because Lucinda doesn’t believe in all that ‘The One’ nonsense. That’s the rule.

But doesn’t every rule have an exception?

This uplifting grumpy-meets-sunshine romance is perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Phillipa Ashley and Milly Johnson.

Order Link – getbook.at/TheOnlyException

My thoughts:

I’m pleased to confirm that this is another enjoyable, uplifting book by Claire Huston. The opening chapters are very dramatic, as Lucinda has a day she will never forget, featuring a broken lift, a medical emergency and major work issues.

Her first time meeting Alex is in the lift but suddenly she finds herself bumping into him a number of times. Lucinda is still living in the house she owns jointly with her ex-boyfriend and Alex is living with his girlfriend, but is there a spark between them?

I loved how the friendship between Lucinda and Alex evolved, helping each other with problems. But could it become more than friendships? This is a non spoiler review so you will need to read the book to find out. An uplifting read, full of friendship, romance, misunderstandings and food (Lucinda runs a catering business). Happy to recommend to readers of my book review blog.

Author Bio:

Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire with her husband and two children. She writes uplifting modern love stories about characters who are meant for each other but sometimes need a little help to realise it.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for over a hundred sweet treats at clairehuston.co.uk. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

Social Media Links: https://linktr.ee/clairehuston_author

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

2 comments

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: