Summer Secrets at Bletchley Park

September 1939. London is in blackout, war has been declared, but Dulcie Treadwell can think only of American broadcaster, Glenn Reeves, who didn’t say goodbye before leaving for Berlin.

Heartbroken, Dulcie is posted to Bletchley Park, where she must concentrate instead on cracking the German Enigma codes. The hours are long and the conditions tough, with little recognition from above. Until she breaks her first code…

But when a spiteful act of jealousy leads to Dulcie’s brutal dismissal, her life is left in pieces once more. Is it too late for Dulcie to prove her innocence and keep the job she loves? And will her heart ever truly heal if she doesn’t hear from Glenn again…?

A new, inspiring wartime series set at Bletchley Park from saga queen Molly Green, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

My thoughts:

Thank you to Ella Young at Avon Books for a copy of the first book in a new series by Molly Green, a new author to me. I’m sharing a mini review today.

I enjoyed this first book and I’m looking forward to reading more of the series (Book 2 A Winter Wedding at Bletchley Park will be published on 24 November 2022).

Dulcie (ake Dale) finds herself working at Bletchley Park after doing well in a crossword competition. She has to contend with unpleasant accommodations owners, jealous staff and not knowing what happened to Glenn, the young American man she found herself falling for.

This book is a reminder to readers about how important Bletchley Park was during the war, and how different lives were due to social changes and the fear of imminent danger. I enjoyed how the story flowed, as Dulcie settled into her new job and made new friends, although that must have been difficult when no-one could say what their job was.

I’m happy to recommend this well written and researched book to readers of my book review blog who enjoy reading historical fiction books.

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

1 comment

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: