Take A Chance on Greece by Sue Roberts

Forgetting your troubles surrounded by golden sandy beaches, crystal-clear waters, and chiselled abs… what could possibly go wrong?

For Orla, moving in with her dad at twenty-nine after a health scare wasn’t exactly her plan. Neither was finding out he’s been keeping a huge family secret…

Ready to put the entire Mediterranean Sea between herself and her dysfunctional family, she packs her bags and checks in to a charming B&B on a sun-drenched Greek island. But the vines climbing the beautiful yellow front and the glittering blue sea aren’t the only gorgeous things in view. Her neighbour, sexy writer Georgios, is in search of inspiration, and Orla’s caught his eye… if only he would lighten up!

It’s a big fat Greek clash of wills as Orla encourages Georgios to put down his pen and start having fun. Who wouldn’t love a cruise on a pirate ship, complete with rum and fake swords? Her heart melts as she catches a glimmer of a smile… but over Greek wine and freshly made mezze by candlelight, he gets far too serious, urging Orla to talk about her past. However, as soon as Orla shares her secrets, Georgios abruptly ends the evening…

The next day, confused and angry, Orla heads to the harbour to leave the island. But something makes her hesitate. Should she get on the boat and keep running from her problems, or break free from her past and let her glorious Greek summer last forever?

A completely feel-good read about living life to the full! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

My thoughts:

Thank you to Bookouture for the invitation to read and review Sue’s latest book, and for a digital review copy. Apologies for being a day late, I had mistakenly written down 15th rather than 13th August. This is my second review for a Sue Robert’s book – my first review was one of my first ever book reviews on my new WordPress account back in August 2019 – you can see the review at https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2019/07/07/a-very-french-affair-by-sue-roberts/

Having visited France virtually with Sue before, this time I was transported to a couple of Greek Islands, to spend time with Orla, who has faced a number of challenges in her life recently and wants to visit somewhere with happy memories of her childhood and to investigate a mystery.

Without leaving my garden, I felt as if I was joining Orla on her travels, staying at the B&B, visiting restaurants, bars and the beach, eating the Greek food and enjoying the holiday. Orla meets many new friends, but could she take a risk and find love too?

I enjoyed how the story flowed, as Orla started to get to know her new neighbours at the B&B. However one neighbour is a challenge – I enjoyed finding out how Orla would deal with prickly Georgios.

Another enjoyable read from Sue Roberts that I’m happy to recommend. Full of sunshine, holiday spirit and self reflection. But beware, this book will make you want to book a holiday in Greece!

Author Bio:

Author Bio:

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!

https://www.instagram.com/suerobertsauthor/

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Sue Roberts here: https://www.bookouture.com/sue-roberts/

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B1MNGYTDsocial

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: