Murder in the Library by Katie Gayle

Julia Bird’s picturesque Cotswolds life is everything she’d dreamed of. Until, that is, she discovers a dead body in the library…

Julia Bird had imagined the quiet of rural life would be soothing after years in the city, but she finds she can’t just sit still.Determined to throw herself into village activities, she joins the library just in time to attend a talk by celebrated local author Vincent Andrews.

Charming, devilishly handsome and talented, Vincent teases the crowd with a reading from his forthcoming novel. Set in a village bearing strange similarities to Berrywick, with characters the audience start to recognise, Vincent hints of dark secrets to be revealed, to gasps of outrage from the room. The meeting ends in uproar, and, just hours later, Vincent’s dead body is discovered behind the bookshelves…

As one of the last people to see him alive, Julia feels morally bound to help the police investigate. With her trusty Labrador, Jake, at her side, she decides to do her own sleuthing and quickly discovers that Vincent’s personal life is messy, his finances are in disarray and his book sales are declining. But most of all, remembering her neighbours’ faces at the book reading, Julia wonders if one of them could have lost the plot enough to kill…

As Julia interrogates the suspects, she walks straight into another scene of murder and mayhem, and realises Vincent’s manuscript is now missing. There’s someone out there who’s deadly serious about keeping their secrets unpublished. Will Julia be able to stop them, before anyone else gets hurt?

Brilliantly twisty, this completely thrilling cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Helena Marchmont and Clare Chase.

Thank you Bookouture for the invitation to read Murder in the Library by Katie Gayle. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the first book about Julia Bird and you can read my review at https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2022/05/06/an-english-garden-murder-by-katie-gayle/ I’m sharing a non spoiler review for the new book on the blog tour today.

The story starts a few months after Julia moved to her new home in the Cotswolds, and life has settled down after finding dead bodies, a canine companion and new friends. However, as the title of the book suggests, there is another murder, this time in the library managed by Julia’s friend Tabitha.

So who would want to kill the good looking author who appears to have set his new book in the local area? Julia starts to search for clues, and the list of suspects grows. A jealous wife, a obsessed ex girlfriend, a disgruntled publisher, an angry ex boyfriend of the wife who believes he has been ridiculed in the latest book.

This is another enjoyable cosy crime book from the author duo known as Katie Gayle. I enjoyed escaping into this latest book, cuddled up with a dog or two (love reading about the escapades of Julia’s dog Jake – my only tiny criticism of the book is that he needs more walks as a young energetic dog).

I recommend reading Murder in the Library with a mug of tea and a scone, to see if Julia Bird and her friends can help the police to solve another murder mystery in the Cotswolds. A lovely escape from the real world.

Author Bio:

Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet.

https://www.facebook.com/KatieGayleWriter

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Katie Gayle here: https://www.bookouture.com/katie-gayle

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09ZF2C3FBsocial

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: