Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls by Holly Martin

Today I’m happy to be sharing my review for this lovely autumnal book. As you may remember, I shared my review for the first book in the Sapphire Bay series back in April 2020 and my review for Sunrise over Sapphire Bay can be read here https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2020/04/26/blogtour-bookreview-sunrise-over-sapphire-bay-by-holly-martin/

Synopsis:

Clover Philips is exactly where she’s meant to be – back home on Jewel Island teaching dance to the guests at the beautiful Sapphire Bay Hotel that she co-owns with her sisters Skye and Aria. Her life is complete, except for one thing…

When Clover left London she also left behind a devastating betrayal. She hasn’t been able to date anyone since, let alone allow herself to fall in love. What she needs is a casual fling to ease herself back into romance. And as luck would have it, the very handsome Angel Mazzeo is back in town.

The chemistry between Clover and Angel has been undeniable ever since Angel first arrived on Jewel Island six months ago. And though content to be her friend till now, Angel is more than willing to help Clover find her dating feet again.

It should be easy to keep things carefree when love is off the table, but when every moment is magical what started as casual soon becomes something much deeper. Will Clover and Angel find the courage to tell each other how they really feel? And is Clover ready to do the one thing she swore she’d never do again, fall in love?

Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Sarah Morgan and Sophie Kinsella, this unforgettable romance is guaranteed to make you smile and melt your heart.

My thoughts:

Having read Sunrise over Sapphire Bay back in April 2020, it was lovely to return to Jewel Island to visit the three sisters again.

This book is set during the autumn and is full of Halloween events, for the holiday makers and the locals. I thought that the romance in this book between Clover and Angel was lovely – both of them are looking to make changes in their lives but don’t want to spoil their friendship.

I did enjoy this book even more than book one – the characters have become more rounded and the hotel sounds more fun to visit now the refurbishments have taken place. In the year of 2020, when many of us have missed out on our holidays, this is the perfect book to take you on a virtual holiday.

I’m hoping there will be a sequel soon.

Holly Martin:

Holly lives in a little white cottage by the sea. She studied media at university which led to a very glitzy career as a hotel receptionist followed by a even more glamorous two years working in a bank. The moment that one of her colleagues received the much coveted carriage clock for fifteen years’ service was the moment when she knew she had to escape. She quit her job and returned to university to train to be a teacher. Three years later, she emerged wide eyed and terrified that she now had responsibility for the development of thirty young minds. She taught for four years and then escaped the classroom to teach history workshops, dressing up as a Viking one day and an Egyptian High Priestess the next. But the long journeys around the UK and many hours sat on the M25 gave her a lot of time to plan out her stories and she now writes full time, doing what she loves.

Holly has been writing for 8 years. She was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance. Her short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology. She won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with her novel The Guestbook. She was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014. She is the bestselling author of 18 books

Follow her on Twitter @HollyMAuthor