Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls by Holly Martin

Today I’m happy to be sharing my review for this lovely autumnal book. As you may remember, I shared my review for the first book in the Sapphire Bay series back in April 2020 and my review for Sunrise over Sapphire Bay can be read here https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2020/04/26/blogtour-bookreview-sunrise-over-sapphire-bay-by-holly-martin/

Synopsis:

Clover Philips is exactly where she’s meant to be – back home on Jewel Island teaching dance to the guests at the beautiful Sapphire Bay Hotel that she co-owns with her sisters Skye and Aria. Her life is complete, except for one thing…

When Clover left London she also left behind a devastating betrayal. She hasn’t been able to date anyone since, let alone allow herself to fall in love. What she needs is a casual fling to ease herself back into romance. And as luck would have it, the very handsome Angel Mazzeo is back in town.

The chemistry between Clover and Angel has been undeniable ever since Angel first arrived on Jewel Island six months ago. And though content to be her friend till now, Angel is more than willing to help Clover find her dating feet again.

It should be easy to keep things carefree when love is off the table, but when every moment is magical what started as casual soon becomes something much deeper. Will Clover and Angel find the courage to tell each other how they really feel? And is Clover ready to do the one thing she swore she’d never do again, fall in love?

Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Sarah Morgan and Sophie Kinsella, this unforgettable romance is guaranteed to make you smile and melt your heart.

My thoughts:

Having read Sunrise over Sapphire Bay back in April 2020, it was lovely to return to Jewel Island to visit the three sisters again.

This book is set during the autumn and is full of Halloween events, for the holiday makers and the locals. I thought that the romance in this book between Clover and Angel was lovely – both of them are looking to make changes in their lives but don’t want to spoil their friendship.

I did enjoy this book even more than book one – the characters have become more rounded and the hotel sounds more fun to visit now the refurbishments have taken place. In the year of 2020, when many of us have missed out on our holidays, this is the perfect book to take you on a virtual holiday.

I’m hoping there will be a sequel soon.

Holly Martin:

Holly lives in a little white cottage by the sea. She studied media at university which led to a very glitzy career as a hotel receptionist followed by a even more glamorous two years working in a bank. The moment that one of her colleagues received the much coveted carriage clock for fifteen years’ service was the moment when she knew she had to escape. She quit her job and returned to university to train to be a teacher. Three years later, she emerged wide eyed and terrified that she now had responsibility for the development of thirty young minds. She taught for four years and then escaped the classroom to teach history workshops, dressing up as a Viking one day and an Egyptian High Priestess the next. But the long journeys around the UK and many hours sat on the M25 gave her a lot of time to plan out her stories and she now writes full time, doing what she loves.

Holly has been writing for 8 years. She was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance. Her short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology. She won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with her novel The Guestbook. She was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014. She is the bestselling author of 18 books

Follow her on Twitter @HollyMAuthor

#BlogTour #BookReview Sunrise over Sapphire Bay by Holly Martin

Publisher comments:

Aria Philips has lived on Jewel Island all of her life. Even when her sisters Clover and Skye left its stunning shores for bigger and better things, Aria stayed to help her father run their family hotel.

A year after her father’s death Aria’s done everything she can to keep things afloat but the hotel has long been struggling to make a profit. With so few guests Aria risks losing the only home she’s ever had.

Noah Campbell earned his fortune from making hotels a success, and he also just happens to be staying on Jewel Island this summer. Could he be the answer to Aria’s problems? If only he hadn’t kissed her under the willow tree the year before and never called her again. It had been the most incredible kiss of her life, but clearly business and pleasure should never be mixed.

As gorgeous and charming as Noah may be, Aria vows to keep things professional while she seeks his help. But for the past year Noah has been keeping a secret and his return to Jewel Island is about to change Aria’s life forever… 

My thoughts:

This is the first book I’ve read by Holly Martin and I’m looking forward to reading more.

I was transported to Jewel Island, to meet Aria and Noah who need to work together with Aria’s sisters Clover and Skye to make the family hotel more successful after the death of their parents.

This story deals with loss, sibling issues, resistance to change but also includes kindness, new friendships and romance and is an uplifting read.

Currently the world is a scary place with countries in lockdown and non essential travel banned. I recommend grabbing a copy of Sunrise over Sapphire Bay and imagining a stay at Aria’s hotel. I enjoyed my escape to Jewel Island and hope that a sequel may be written in the future.

Thank you to the author for a digital review copy – my thoughts are my own.

The author:

Holly Martin lives in a little white cottage by the sea. She studied media at university which led to a very glitzy career as a hotel receptionist followed by a even more glamorous two years working in a bank. The moment that one of her colleagues received the much coveted carriage clock for fifteen years’ service was the moment when she knew she had to escape. She quit her job and returned to university to train to be a teacher. Three years later, she emerged wide eyed and terrified that she now had responsibility for the development of thirty young minds. She taught for four years and then escaped the classroom to teach history workshops, dressing up as a Viking one day and an Egyptian High Priestess the next. But the long journeys around the UK and many hours sat on the M25 gave her a lot of time to plan out her stories and she now writes full time, doing what she loves.

Holly has been writing for 8 years. She was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance. Her short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology. She won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with her novel The Guestbook. She was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014. She is the bestselling author of 18 books 



View all my reviews