love songs for sceptics by christina pishiris

Late last year I attended a Books and The City book event run with Hillingdon Library and requested a copy of this book. When putting together a ‘sunshine stack’ for my Instagram account (@karenkisreading), I realised that I still hadn’t read the book and added it to my April reading list. Here is a mini review of the book.

Synopsis:

My brother’s getting married in a few weeks and asked for help picking a song for his first dance. I suggested Kiss’s ‘Love’s a Slap in the Face’.

It didn’t go down well.

When she was a teenager, Zoë Frixos fell in love with Simon Baxter, her best friend and the boy next door. But his family moved to America before she could tell him how she felt and, like a scratched record, she’s never quite moved on. Now, almost twenty years later, Simon is heading back to London, newly single and as charming as ever . . .

But as obstacles continue to get in her way – Simon’s perfect ex-girlfriend, her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding, and an obnoxious publicist determined to ruin her career – Zoë begins to wonder whether, after all these years, she and Simon just aren’t meant to be.

What if, despite what all the songs and movies say, your first love isn’t always all it’s cracked up to be? What if, instead Zoë and Simon are forever destined to shuffle around their feelings for each other, never quite getting the steps right . . .

With a smart, relatable central character and razor-sharp wit, Love Songs for Sceptics is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lucy Vine and Lindsey Kelk. 

My thoughts:

This was the perfect book to start my Easter holiday readathon. Zoe is a wonderful character and the story flowed beautifully. Her best friend Simon is back in the same country, her brother is getting married and her work family are under threat of redundancy. Zoe now needs to resolve her feelings for Simon, bond with her new sister-in-law-to-be and find a solution to make her music magazine more profitable.

This book is full of relationships, food and music. Once I stopped shouting ‘social distancing’ at the characters, I enjoyed being in a virtual world where it was normal to work in an office, go out for a meal and attend large social gatherings.

A fabulous debut novel published by Books and The City. If you missed this last year as I did, then I recommend reading a copy in 2021. I look forward to reading more by Christina Pishiris in the future.

Author Bio (From Amazon):

Christina was born in London to Greek Cypriot parents, who used to bribe her to go to family weddings by promising that George Michael might be there. To deal with the inevitable disappointment, she began making up stories on napkins and has been writing ever since.

Her debut novel, Love Songs for Sceptics, a romcom set in the world of music journalism, is published by Simon & Schuster in the UK. You can find her on Twitter: @ChristinaPi Facebook: @ChristinaPishirisAuthor and Instagram: christinapishiris

For more info, visit: http://www.christinapishiris.com