The Hidden Palace by Dinah Jefferies

A rebellious daughter 1923. Among the ancient honey-coloured walls of the tiny island of Malta, strangers slip into the shadows and anyone can buy a new name. Rosalie Delacroix flees Paris for a dancer’s job in the bohemian clubs deep in its winding streets. A sister with a secret 1944. Running from the brutality of… Continue reading The Hidden Palace by Dinah Jefferies

The Little Wartime Library by Kate Thompson

London, 1944. Clara Button is no ordinary librarian. While the world remains at war, in East London Clara has created the country’s only underground library, built over the tracks in the disused Bethnal Green tube station. Down here a secret community thrives: with thousands of bunk beds, a nursery, a café and a theatre offering… Continue reading The Little Wartime Library by Kate Thompson

We’ll Meet Again by Anton Du Beke

London, 1939. ‘Downton with dance, perfect’ Santa Montefiore As war is declared once more, a shadow falls over Britain. The staff at the luxurious Buckingham hotel must do all that they can to keep their important guests happy, but behind the scenes they are scared. Away from the glitz and the glamour of the ballroom they… Continue reading We’ll Meet Again by Anton Du Beke

Codename: Madeleine by Barnaby Jameson

A Mystic’s daughter flees Moscow on the eve of the Great War. A French soldier lies wounded on the Western Front. A German officer veers between loyalty and integrity. An English courtesan reclines on a sea of books. Each will make a journey that changes history. The constellations will force the Mystic’s daughter to make… Continue reading Codename: Madeleine by Barnaby Jameson

An Italian Girl in Brooklyn by Santa Montefiore

New York, 1979.  It is Thanksgiving and Evelina has her close family and beloved friends gathered around, her heart weighted with gratitude for what she has and regret for what she has given up. She has lived in America for over thirty years, but she is still Italian in her soul.  Northern Italy, 1934.  Evelina leads a sheltered… Continue reading An Italian Girl in Brooklyn by Santa Montefiore

Summer Secrets at Bletchley Park

September 1939. London is in blackout, war has been declared, but Dulcie Treadwell can think only of American broadcaster, Glenn Reeves, who didn’t say goodbye before leaving for Berlin. Heartbroken, Dulcie is posted to Bletchley Park, where she must concentrate instead on cracking the German Enigma codes. The hours are long and the conditions tough,… Continue reading Summer Secrets at Bletchley Park

Dead in the Water by Mark Ellis

Thank you to Amber at Midas PR for inviting me to join the blog tour for Dead In The Water by Mark Ellis, published by Headline Accent in paperback on 19 May 2022. Synopsis: Summer, 1942.The Second World War rages on but Britain now faces the Nazi threat with America at its side. In a… Continue reading Dead in the Water by Mark Ellis

The Peacock House by Kate Glanville

Thank you to Anne of Random Things Tours and Headline Accent Press for the invitation to join the blog tour and a copy of the book to review. Synopsis: 1943Evelyn dreams of escaping Vaughan Court and the loveless marriage that led her there. Then, at the height of the Second World War, a single moment… Continue reading The Peacock House by Kate Glanville

A Ration Book Victory by Jean Fullerton

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources and Corvus Books for the opportunity to join the blog tour for book 8 in the Ration Book series. Synopsis: Jean Fullerton, the RNA-shortlisted queen of the East End, returns with the final nostalgic and heart-warming story of the Brogan family._____ In the final days of war, only love will pull her… Continue reading A Ration Book Victory by Jean Fullerton

An Island Of Secrets by Eva Glyn

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources and One More Chapter for the invitation to join the blog tour, and a digital review copy to read via NetGalley. Synopsis: For fans of Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop, Lucinda Riley and Rosanna Ley, this is a stunning and sweeping WW2 novel that shows a side to the war… Continue reading An Island Of Secrets by Eva Glyn