An English Garden Murder by Katie Gayle

Thank you to Bookouture for the invitation to join the blog tour for the new series by Katie Gayle. I enjoyed reading their Epiphany Bloom series recently (see my last review at https://mentoringmumof2bookreviews.home.blog/2021/08/02/death-at-the-gates-by-katie-gayle-epiphany-bloom-3/ ) and I was eager to meet Julia Bird.

Synopsis:

Meet Julia Bird: recently single, reluctantly retired, and… an amateur sleuth?

Julia Bird has left London for a fresh start in a picturesque Cotswolds village, and the rustic charm and cosy fireplaces of her little cottage are everything she’d hoped for. But when she tears down the old garden shed to make way for a chicken coop, she unearths much more than she’d bargained for… the body of a young woman, apparently buried for decades, thrusting Julia into a baffling mystery.

With only one copper on the case in Berrywick, Julia decides to solve the who and whodunnit herself, taking her wayward puppy Jake along for the ride. And so begins a whirlwind tour of the village – from the dotty 90-year-old to the delightful doctor and the village gardener, it seems everyone has something to hide.

Soon, Julia is convinced she has discovered the killer’s identity, until Jake, a true Labrador, finds a new love of the local lake’s waterfowl and instead ends up catching her chief suspect… drowned. Back at square one, with potential culprits galore, Julia – newly nicknamed the Grim Reaper – despairs at ever solving the murders.

But as Julia ruffles feathers village-wide, the clock is ticking. There is someone in the village who has killed twice already. Will they be prepared to make it third time lucky to keep their secret safe?

This totally addictive page-turning cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands.

My thoughts:

I enjoy reading a good cosy mystery book, and this one was a book I thoroughly enjoyed. Julia is looking forward to a quiet retirement in a small village but suddenly finds herself involved in a number of murder cases after finding two dead bodies in a matter of days.

Julia also finds herself with a new four legged companion and the adventures they have made me laugh out loud in places.

There are a number of suspects, and Julia finds herself ‘helping’ the local police to solve the murder mysteries – an unusual way to get to know your new neighbours.

I’m pleased to see that this will be another series of books and I look forward to meeting Julia again in the future. Happy to recommend to readers who enjoy cosy mystery books – this would be a perfect book for relaxing with by the pool or curled up with your own four legged companion.

Author Bio:

Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats.

https://www.facebook.com/KatieGayleWriter

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Katie Gayle here: https://www.bookouture.com/katie-gayle

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09SQ8CD7Jsocial

Audio Links:

UK: zpr.io/6WBwQ4rZUzdE
US: zpr.io/6PaCiZHfPWqL

Listen to a sample here:

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

1 comment

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: