An Island Of Secrets by Eva Glyn

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources and One More Chapter for the invitation to join the blog tour, and a digital review copy to read via NetGalley.

Synopsis:

For fans of Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop, Lucinda Riley and Rosanna Ley, this is a stunning and sweeping WW2 novel that shows a side to the war not often seen before.

That was then…

Seventy-five years ago, British SOE spy Guy Barclay was forced to leave behind the woman he loved in war-ravaged Yugoslavia.

…This is now

As ninety-three-year-old Guy’s days draw to a close, he asks his granddaughter, Leo Holmes, to go looking for answers. Given that her marriage has imploded and her City job is on the verge of killing her, Leo agrees and rents a house on the island of Vis, where her grandfather was stationed in the Second World War.

But as Leo’s search takes her down unexpected roads – and into the path of a gorgeous local, Andrej Pintaric – she begins to wonder if this journey down memory lane might yield unexpected results for more than just her beloved grandfather…

Purchase Link – https://mybook.to/AnIslandOfSecrets

My thoughts:

Regular readers of my book review blog will know I enjoy reading historical fiction novels set during World War 2. This book caught my eye when I read the blog tour invitation from Rachel Gilbey, because it is partly set in Yugoslavia – somewhere I knew very little about.

This was a fascinating and thought provoking read, alternating between Guy’s war time experiences and his granddaughter Leo’s time on the island, trying to find out what happened to the locals her grandfather met whilst making decisions about her own future.

The book is beautifully written and very emotional in places, as the two stories unfold. We discover the best and the worst of how people behave towards others. I look forward to reading more by Eva Glyn (aka Jane Cable) in the future and I’m happy to recommend this well researched novel.

Author Bio:

Eva Glyn writes escapist relationship-driven fiction with a kernel of truth at its heart. She loves to travel and finds inspiration in beautiful places and the stories they hide.

Her last holiday before lockdown was a trip to Croatia, and the country’s haunting histories and gorgeous scenery have proved fertile ground, driven by her friendship with a tour guide she met there. His wartime story provided the inspiration for The Olive Grove and his help in creating a realistic portrayal of Croatian life had proved invaluable. Her second novel set in the country, a dual timeline looking back to World War 2, will be published in the spring of 2022, also by One More Chapter.

Eva lives in Cornwall, although she considers herself Welsh, and has been lucky enough to have been married to the love of her life for twenty-five years. She also writes as Jane Cable.

Social Media Links – 
Twitter @JaneCable
Instagram @evaglynauthor
Bookbub @EvaGlyn  https://www.bookbub.com/authors/eva-glyn
Facebook @EvaGlynAuthor https://www.facebook.com/EvaGlynAuthor

Advertisement

By Karen K is reading

An avid reader from the age of 4. Love escaping into a good novel after a busy day working with students. Mum. Adopter of dogs.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: